Faculty/Staff Accolades Archive

Matthew Webb, assistant professor of mathematics, received the University Book & Supply (UBS) Outstanding Teaching Award for 2015. The award honors pre-tenure faculty members who have shown significant contributions to the quality of teaching.

John Wiles, assistant professor of music, received the University Book & Supply (UBS) Outstanding Teaching Award for 2015. The award honors pre-tenure faculty members who have shown significant contributions to the quality of teaching.

The Science Education Resource Center at Carleton College is proud to announce that Professor Kyle Gray has recently published an online teaching module titled Interactions between Water, Earth's Surface, and Human Activity. As part of the National Science Foundation funded InTeGrate STEP Center activities, Dr. Gray was part of a team of three faculty members who developed and tested these materials. We congratulate Dr. Gray and his team on the successful completion and publication of this important addition to the study and teaching of water resources. To view Interactions between Water, Earth's Surface, and Human Activity please visit: http://serc.carleton.edu/integrate/teaching_materials/energy_and_process...

Wendy Mulder, Clerk III, Office of the Registrar, has been awarded the Upper Midwest Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers "Staff Support Award", which recognizes the contribution of support staff to their institution and the Association.

Dennis Schmidt, professor of accounting, has received the Regents Excellence Award for Faculty. He was the developer of a tax research website that was one of the first of such sites, and it is still used today in both academia and practice.

James McCullagh, professor of social work, received the Regents Excellence Award for Faculty. He has been successful in grantsmanship, having received more than 4 million dollars in external funds.

Ripley Marston, professor of physical education, received the Regents Excellence Award for Faculty. He is the author of several books and an array of articles in the area of physical education pedagogy. Marston is the creator and administrative director of UNI's Kindergym program.

Angeleita Floyd, professor of flute in the School of Music, received the Regents Excellence Award for Faculty. Floyd has received critical praise and international acclaim for her research, writings, musicianship, professional practices and pedagogy.

John Burnight, assistant professor of philosophy and world religions, received the Excellence in Liberal Arts Core Teaching Award. This award is given to a faculty member who demonstrates quality teaching of Liberal Arts Core classes.

Carl Thurman, biology, received the James Lubker Faculty Research Award at the fall faculty meeting. In addition to UNI students and faculty, Thurman collaborates with scientists across the USA, as well as Europe and South America to produce novel scientific information.

Elaine Eshbaugh, applied human sciences, received the Class of 1943 Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching at the fall faculty meeting. Eshbaugh developed the only college course in Iowa on the topic of Alzheimer's and related dementias. She regularly mentors undergraduates in their research or has them involved with her own research team.

Robin Lund, associate professor of physical education, received the Class of 1943 Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching at the fall faculty meeting. Lund teaches a wide range of course work at the graduate and undergraduate level including research methods, statistics, anatomy and physiology and a variety of other courses in the movement and exercise science major.

Tim Gilson, educational leadership and postsecondary education, received the Ross A. Nielsen Professional Service Award at the 2014 fall faculty meeting. Gilson’s contributions to education include preparing principals in Iowa, advising MAE and doctoral students, and providing guest lectures on school law to UNI’s preservice teachers.

Mary Losch has been named the new director of the Center for Social & Behavioral Research.  Losch has served as the CSBR's assistant director for 16 years and has extensive experience at the state and national level in survey research.

Augustina Naami's poster, "Disability, Gender and Employment Relationships in Africa: The Case of Ghana," won the Tanis Doe Prize for the best poster at this year's Society for Disability Studies annual conference.

Francesca Soans, associate professor of communication studies, received the 2014 Loren Horton Community History Award from the State Historical Society of Iowa (SHSI) for the documentary "Sons of Jacob Synagogue."

The United States Sports Academy has awarded Chris Edginton, health, physical education & leisure services, its 2014 Distinguished Service Award. Edginton serves as the Secretary General of the World Leisure Organization, a non-governmental organization in consultative status with The United Nations. The award will be presented during the 2014 World Leisure Conference in September.

Carolina Wilson was installed as Division Secretary for the Iowa-Nebraska Division of the International Association of Administrative Professionals.

Patricia Geadelmann, special assistant to the president for board & governmental relations, has been named the Leadership Award recipient by the Iowa Campus Compact. These Engaged Campus Awards recognize individuals and groups in Iowa higher education for their work toward the Iowa Campus Compact mission of deepening and strengthening campus civic and community engagement.

Chris Schrage, UNIBusiness Global Opportunities Coordinator and UNI instructor of marketing, has joined the Board of Governors for NASBITE International, a nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of international trade and its activities. NASBITE is the accrediting organization for the Certified Global Business Professional credential.

Mary Herring, associate dean in the College of Education, co-presented the following sessions at the American Association for Colleges of Education 2014 Annual Meeting in Indianapolis Feb. 28 through March 3, 2014: Creating Culturally Competent and Confident Teachers - Mary Herring & Dwight Watson; Transformational Leadership to Develop TPACK-Ready Teacher Candidates; Intel Teach Pilot; and Leading Up! Advocating and Implementing Change as Associate Deans. 

The winners of the University Book and Supply Outstanding Teaching Awards for 2014 are Sarah Vander Zanden (College of Education/curriculum & instruction); Sheila Benson (College of Humanities, Arts, and Sciences/languages & literatures); Nicholas Schwab (College of Social and Behavioral Sciences/psychology); and Russell Guay (College of Business Administration/management). The UBS Outstanding Teaching Award honors pre-tenure faculty members who have shown significant contributions to the quality of teaching.

Jesse Swan, professor of languages and literatures, was recently selected to participate in the National Endowment for the Humanities Collaborative Research project on Shakespeare and Biography. Centered at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, D.C., the project brings together the best Shakespeareans and biographers.

Mary Herring, associate dean and professor in the College of Education, was recently named to Microsoft's 2013-2014 Worldwide Higher Education Board. The advisory board is composed of faculty members from the worldwide academic community convening to discuss the use of technology in the higher education community. Herring was chosen because of her demonstrated excellence in the field of technology usage in higher education.

Stephen Gaies, languages & literatures, was selected by the National Institute for Holocaust Education of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum to participate in the Conference for Holocaust Education Centers in February 2014.