ITQP Receives John I. Wilson Leadership for Learning Award


Press Release: The Partnership for 21st Century Skills

Stowe, VT - Julie Walker, executive director of the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) and chair of P21, along with Lillian Kellogg, vice president at Education Networks of America and P21 vice-chair, hosted the 21st Century Education awards ceremony recognizing 10 states for best practices at Institute.21 - Partnership for 21st Century Skills' 5th annual summit in Stowe, VT on Friday July 15, 2011.Presented in recognition of state achievement in 21st Century Education, these awards acknowledge the efforts of the P21 Leadership States to integrate 21st Century Skills into their policy, practice and professional development.

The best practices ceremony this year included the new John I. Wilson Leadership for Learning Award, founded to honor John Wilson, NEA executive director, and founding member of P21 who is retiring this year. The criteria for the award includes an emphasis on multi-stakeholder collaboration to honor John Wilson's collaborative spirit and ability to create unique partnerships on behalf of the nation's children.

Wilson joined Walker and Kellogg on stage as Kentucky received the inaugural John I. Wilson Leadership for Learning

 Award for the state's Content Leadership Networks and Continuous Instructional Improvement Technology System (CIITS).

In presenting the award to its first-ever recipient, John Wilson remarked "I'm retiring from NEA, but not retiring from NEA's causes. P21 is a great cause. We need a continuing movement to demand a rich and engaging curriculum for every student, and P21 is a driver in that movement," said Wilson. "Educators and policymakers must learn from success in other countries, and P21 encourages that study. We know that meaningful action, real change in our schools, takes collaboration of stakeholders, and P21 brings together corporations, educators and non-profits to champion smart education policy. P21 respects the voice of teachers and is dedicated to the success of students. I am proud that NEA has been a part of this important work," he said.

21st Century Education Awardees included:

Arizona, recognizing 21st Century Education Resources for Arizona Teachers: AZ Teach 21, Ed Tech Grade Level Implementation Guides and AzTIM (Arizona Technology Integration Matrix);

Iowa, recognizing the Iowa Teacher Quality Partnership Grant;

Kansas, recognizing the Kansas Commission on Graduation and Dropout Prevention and Recovery's final report and recommendations: Ensure Economic Success for Tomorrow: Graduate All Students Today;

Kentucky, recognizing the Kentucky Model Curriculum Framework;

Louisiana, recognizing the Journey to Careers Curriculum;

Massachusetts, recognizing the Massachusetts New Literacies Institute 2011;

Nevada, recognizing the Nevada Pathway to 21st Century Learning;

North Carolina, recognizing the North Carolina Common Core State Standards and Essential Standards 2011 Summer Leadership Institutes;

Wisconsin, recognizing the Leadership Coaching PD Program;

West Virginia, recognizing the Comprehensive Data Access through "Data Portal for 21st Century for Success" (DP21) and "WVEIS on the Web" (WOW);

"These initiatives provide excellent examples of the implementation of the P21 Framework across our leadership states," said Julie Walker, "and P21 is pleased to recognize and celebrate the states' commitment to 21st century teaching and learning for all students."  

Original press release available at: