Theta Alpha Phi Alumni Scholarship

Once theatre majors graduate, they become alumni and the university as a whole has no stronger, or more generous and concerned group of alumni than the over 650 members of Theta Alpha Phi, Iowa Beta Chapter. These loyal alums include artistic directors of nationally known theatre companies, actors, directors, designers, teachers, scholars, scientists, homemakers, and passionate theatre amateurs across the country. In the late 1930’s, TAP alum started contributing to a theatre fund that was to be used for a “new Theatre.” While the fund grew, the interest generated went to scholarships – the oldest existing theatre scholarship fund. Even after Strayer-Wood Theatre was built in 1978, they ensured the tradition of sponsoring a scholarship for future generations of TAP’s by raising $40,000 to establish an endowed TAP Scholarship.

2014-15 Theta Alpha Phi Scholarship Awards:

Olivia Frisch

Molly Giegerich