Bertha Martin Memorial Scholarship

Bertha Martin is generally credited as the founder of the theatre program at our university. She came to the Iowa State Normal School in 1905 from the Columbia School of Expression in Chicago and helped transform a program in elocution into a modern program of oral interpretation and theatre education. Among her students were Hazel Strayer, who would succeed her, and Stanley Wood. This year marks the 25th time this scholarship in her name has been given.

2014-15 Bertha Martin Memorial Scholarship Recipient:

Madeline Achen