Northern Iowa Student Government

Dates to Know for the Budgetary Process

By: Anthony Spoerl on Wed, 02/19/2014 - 16:08

January 30th, 5 p.m. : Applications available online

February 21st 5 p.m. : Applications are due


February 24th - 28th : Hearing Sign-up available - Student Involvement Center

March 3rd - 7th : Budget Hearings

Notification by email of funding allocations sent during the week of April 7th - 11th

Open Forum with Candidates

By: Alyssa Turcsak on Tue, 02/18/2014 - 15:37

Tonight at 5:00 pm in the Maucker Union Coffee House, we will meet the NISG Candidates! To live stream the event, please click on this link:

Join us for an open forum with NISG Candidates for the various positions available including President, Vice President, and Senate positions. Contact us with any questions at 

The 2014 official election ballot will consist of the following:

Presidential and Vice Presidential Candidates:
Corey Cooling and Eric Boisen
Kevin Gartman and Paul Andersen

College of Business Administration Senate Candidates:
Nathan Davis
Jay Fruechte
Joseph Noonan
1 Uncontested Seat

College of Education Senate Candidates:
Anna Kron
Taylor Welden
2 Uncontested Seats

College of Humanities, Arts, and Sciences Senate Candidates:
Michael Kelly
Aaron Friel
Natalie Kaufman
Abigail Shew
Kaylin Upah
Corbyn David Mellinger
Trey Roosa

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences Senate Candidates:
Kathryn Evans
2 Uncontested Seats

Graduate College Senate Candidates:
3 Uncontested Seats

Undecided/General Studies/Interdisciplinary/No College Senate Candidates:
1 Uncontested Seat

Above and Beyond Awards

By: Alyssa Turcsak on Fri, 02/14/2014 - 15:11


Above and Beyond Awards

Sponsored by the Northern Iowa Student Government and the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning


Purpose: The purpose of these awards is to recognize faculty and staff across campus students believe are going above and beyond their jobs in their commitment to student success. 


Process: Nominees need to be nominated by a University of Northern Iowa student or employee by March 3, 2014 in order to qualify. To nominate someone, the nominator must send a one page letter to discussing how the candidate meets the relevant criteria. Upon nomination, the nominees will be contacted to submit the items below by March 28, 2014 at 5:00 p.m.  A committee of 7 students will meet to select the recipients.

1. An additional two recommendation letters

  • With the original nomination letter, there will be a total of three recommendation letters.
  • Two of the three recommendation letters must be from students.
  • If the nominees would prefer, they can submit names for the Northern Iowa Student Government to ask to submit recommendation letters.

2. List of courses taught

  • For the teaching award ONLY

All nominees will be invited to attend the awards ceremony on April 16, 2014 in the University Room in Maucker Union from 5-7 p.m. to hear the winners announced. 


Teaching Award Criteria

This award is intended for faculty who:

  • Exhibit a passion for teaching and student learning within and beyond the classroom
  • Utilize effective, active and engaging pedagogy that emphasizes, recognizes and prioritizes the overall comprehensiveness of student learning
  • Demonstrate a clear passion for and commitment to student success and well-being
  • Challenge students to reflect on, analyze, and/or apply the course material


Advising/Service to Students Award Criteria

This award is intended for faculty or other UNI staff who

  • Prioritize interactions with students outside of the classroom
  • Engage students in planning for their academic career and/or their future post-graduation
  • Demonstrate a clear passion for and commitment to student success and well-being
  • Go above and beyond their job description to assist students in being successful at UNI 
  • NOTE: This award is NOT intended to only recognize academic advising, though that can be included. 



Election Season 2014

By: Alyssa Turcsak on Thu, 02/13/2014 - 15:36

It's election season! Be sure to check out our facebook and twitter pages to stay up-to-date on all things election.

Become a Panther Advocate!

By: Alyssa Turcsak on Tue, 11/19/2013 - 09:56

Panther Advocates is a student led legislative informational group connecting students with their legislators. As Panther Advocates we provide local legislators a personal, first hand account about the benefits of attending our fine university. When Advocates meet with their legislator it’s a great opportunity to answer any of the legislators questions about the university.

Apply by clicking the link below. Informational training sessions will be held to help promote and prepare all Panther Advocates before they meet with their legislators.

If you have any questions, please e-mail Victoria Hurst, Director of Governmental Relations at