down arrowMenu

Division of Student Affairs

Asperger’s at UNI

Posted on Thursday, October 14th, 2010

More students than ever with Asperger's Syndrome are attending institutions of higher education. In order to equip UNI faculty/staff to provide the highest level of professional assistance to such students a program called “Asperger’s at UNI” is being offered twice this semester.

Attend this "Insights for Effectiveness"* program EITHER Tuesday, March 29, 1-2:30 p.m. OR Wednesday, March 30, 10-11:30 a.m., located in the Maucker Union Old Central Ballroom. Each time will include:

  • A video introduction to Asperger’s Syndrome, as it relates to the college environment
  • A broad overview of Asperger’s Syndrome by clinical psychologist Dr. Paul Conditt
  • A panel, consisting of representatives from the Dean of Students Office, the Counseling Center, the Disabilities Services Office, the Department of Residence, the Vocational Rehabilitation Office, as well as a student with Asperger’s Syndrome.

While these programs are intended for staff in the Division of Student Affairs, all staff AND faculty are strongly encouraged to attend. Student employees, too, are encouraged to attend. An understanding of the topic is crucial for providing the highest level of support to members of the UNI community who have Asperger’s Syndrome.

Refreshments will be served.

If you will need disability-related accommodations to participate in this event, please contact Ashley Brickley (ashley.brickley@uni.edu) . Early requests are strongly encouraged to allow sufficient time for your access needs to be met.

*“Insights for Effectiveness”: This Division of Student Affairs program series informs UNI student affairs professionals (and other members of the University community) about how to work more effectively with diverse colleagues and to serve diverse constituents.

Program Panelists

Dr. Paul Conditt Licensed Psychologist at Conditt Psychological Services drpaul@conditt.org Chris Crews-Larsen Counselor for Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services chris.crews@uni.edu Melissa Payne Student Assistance/Outreach Coordinator for the Vice President of Student Affairs melissa.payne@uni.edu Ashley Brickley Coordinator for Student Disability Services ashley.brickley@uni.edu David Lemon Bender Hall Residence Life Coordinator david.lemon@uni.edu Dakota Funk Student dfunk@uni.edu