Faculty/Staff Accolades Archive

UNI's Distance Education Instructional Development and Support Team, Office of Continuing and Distance Education received the 2013 Innovators Award from the Iowa Distance Learning Association (IDLA). UNI team members include: Belle Cowden, Farah Kashef, Jonathan Last, Michael Savage and Joanna Thompson-Yezek.

The UNI Speech Team qualified 10 students in 34 events at the American Forensic Association National Individual Events Tournament (AFA-NIET) in Kansas. The AFA-NIET is the most selective and competitive collegiate national speech tournament. This is one of the largest contingents UNI has sent to AFA-NIET in the tournament's 35-year history. The team placed 10 out of 78 teams in team sweepstakes.

UNI received a STARS gold rating in recognition of its sustainability achievements from the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE). This is the second STARS gold rating UNI has received since 2011.

Nadia Korobova, international programs, has been awarded a Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst (DAAD) grant for a study tour of Germany in June. Founded in 1925, the DAAD is a publicly-funded independent German organization that supports international academic co-operation. Past DAAD grant recipients include literary icon Susan Sontag and Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jeffrey Eugenides.

Faculty, staff and students in the College of Humanities, Arts & Sciences (CHAS) took home 15 awards for design and advertising projects at the Cedar Valley ADDY Awards.

Ben Schafer, computer science, was appointed to a one-year term on the LEGO Education Advisory Panel. He was one of eight to 12 new panelists selected from more than 11,000 educators.

Melissa Beall, communication studies, is one of four inductees into the Central States Communication Association Hall of Fame.

Lindsay Cohn, political science, has been awarded an International Affairs Fellowship with the Council on Foreign Relations.

Recipients of this year's University Book and Supply Outstanding Untenured Teaching Award award are Ruth Chananie-Hill, sociology, anthropology and criminology; Elizabeth Lefler, psychology; Emily Machen, history; and Elizabeth Sutton, art.

UNI's Study Abroad programs were ranked No. 15 of the top 40 U.S. institutions among Master's Colleges and Universities and No. 9 of the top 20 leading institutions in the nation by participation in short-term study abroad among Master's Colleges and Universities by the 2012 Open Doors Report on International Educational Exchange. UNI was the only public university in Iowa recognized for short-term study abroad programs.

Rebecca Buel, communication studies, was awarded the 2012 AFA-NIET Outstanding New Forensics Coach Award.

Jeffery Byrd, art, has work featured in "Insider/Outsider", an exhibition displayed at Lincoln Arts Project in Waltham, Mass. The exhibition included documentation of performance art pieces happening in public spaces. Byrd’s work recorded an eight-year performance in which he inconspicuously left sheets of gold leaf in 15 cities in 10 different countries.

Mary Frisbee Johnson, art, is exhibiting artwork in the international metals exhibition FERROUS, a collaborative exhibition between Velvet Da Vinci Gallery and the organization crafthaus in San Francisco, Calif., March 1 through  April 14. For more of Johnson’s work, visit maryfrisbeejohnson.com/.

UNI's Dream Big Grow Here program received first place in the Mid-America Economic Development Council’s 2012 annual Economic Development Awards’ online marketing category in the small market division. Dream Big Grow Here was started by the UNI Regional Business Center through Iowa’s online community for Iowa entrepreneurs and small business.

Overall satisfaction with on-campus living is at its highest, according to the national Educational Benchmarking Survey conducted annually. The survey measures satisfaction with room assignments, environment, programming, safety and dining.

Jim Riggle, operations and maintenance, received the High Five Award from UNI's Division of Administration & Financial Services. This prestigious award recognizes A&FS Division employees annually for continued and outstanding achievement in the division's core values of service excellence, teamwork and initiative.

Mary Herring, College of Education, was named a 2012 Association of Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) Presidential Award recipient. AECT is a professional association of thousands of educators and others whose activities are directed toward improving instruction through technology.

Gowri Betrabet Gulwadi, applied human sciences, was elected to the Board of Directors of the Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA) - an international, interdisciplinary organization that advances environmental design research to improve understanding of how people relate to their surroundings, and creates environments responsive to human needs.

Chad Heinzel's earth science short-term program in Italy was named a Top Pick in the 2012 Abroad101 Study Abroad Rankings presented by STA Travel.

Christopher Denison, health, physical education and leisure services, received the Horace Moody Award for his outstanding commitment to student development.

Susan Hill, philosophy and world religions, was elected to the American Academy of Religion Board.

Jean Neibauer, academic advising, received the Outstanding Advisor Award by the National Academic Advising Association.

2012 Regents Excellence Awards: Tim Bakula, financial aid; Ken Bauer, information technology; Rosanne L. Lang, dining services; and Lyn Redington, residence life.

2012 Regents Faculty Excellence Awards: Larry Escalada, physics; Helen Harton, psychology; Vince Gotera, languages and literatures; Chris Edginton, health, physical education & leisure services; Ken Brown, economics.

Karen Mitchell, communication studies, was selected for the Leslie Irene Coger Award for Distinguished Performance by the National Communication Association.