The UNI feed is not accessible

UNI Education Experts

UNI Election Experts

Lyn Countryman

professor and interim director, Malcolm Price Laboratory School

319-273-2614

lyn.countryman@uni.edu

Topics:  effective teaching, global achievement gap, K-12 science teaching, STEM education

lyn countryman

 

Donna Hoffman

interim department head and associate professor, political science

319-273-5916

donna.hoffman@uni.edu

Topics:  American politics, Iowa Caucuses, American presidency, presidential-congressional relations, presidential rhetoric, campaigns and elections

Co-authored a book on how the State of the Union address works as a tool of presidential communication. The book's title is "Addressing the State of the Union: The Evolution and the Impact of the President's Big Speech."

Donna Hoffman


Nadene Davidson

interim head and assistant professor, Department of Teaching

319-273-6171

nadene.davidson@uni.edu

Topics: 21st century skills, universal constructs, student teaching/clinical experiences, Iowa Core, education reform, reauthorization of Elementary & Secondary Education Act (formerly No Child Left Behind), student achievement, global achievement, effective teaching

nadene davidson

 

Justin Holmes 

assistant professor, political science

319-273-6305

justin.holmes@uni.edu

Topics: Political communication, public opinion, voting behavior, political advertising, political psychology, campaigns and elections, politics and the internet

Justin Holmes


Michele Devlin

professor and director of the Iowa Center for Health Disparities at UNI

319-273-5806

michele.devlin@uni.edu

Topics: health literacy, multicultural education, cultural competency

Expertise in training and research about culturally competent healthcare and related topics affecting immigrant, refugee, minority and low-income white populations.

michele devlin

 

Christopher Larimer 

associate professor, political science

319-273-6047

christopher.larimer@uni.edu

Topics:  Public policy, political behavior, state boards, Iowa politics, Iowa Caucuses, state legislature, voter turnout, candidate behavior

Blog: http://iowacaucus.com/author/chrislarimer/

Christopher Larimer


Salli Forbes

associate professor, curriculum & instruction and director, UNI Reading Recovery Center

319-273-6597

salli.forbes@uni.edu

Topics: literacy, reading recovery program

 

 

Ramona McNeal 

assistant professor, political science

319-273-6493

ramona.mcneal@uni.edu

Topics: Impact of Internet on elections and campaigns, political participation, e-government, campaign finance reform, public policy, health and education policy

Ramona McNeal

Tim Gilson

assistant professor, educational leadership, counseling & postsecondary education

319-273-2636

tim.gilson@uni.edu

Topics: school consolidation, educational law

tim gilson

 

Scott Peters 

associate professor, political science

319-273-2727

scott.peters@uni.edu

Topics: Law and American politics, selection and retention of state judges, judicial politics, U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Constitution/constitutional law

headshot of Scott Peters

Mary Herring

interim associate dean and associate professor, College of Education

319-273-2719

mary.herring@uni.edu

Topics: education reform, teacher accountability, student achievement, effective teachers, technology in education

mary herring 

 

 

Dewitt Jones

associate professor, educational leadership, counseling & postsecondary education

319-273-4546

dewitt.jones@uni.edu

Topics: student achievement gap, school law

dewitt jones 

 

 

Chris Kliewer

professor, special education

319-273-7185

christopher.kliewer@uni.edu

Topics: literacy and communication skills in young children with significant developmental disabilities, inclusive education

 

  

 

 

Nicholas Pace

associate professor, educational leadership, counseling & postsecondary education

319-273-3564

nick.pace@uni.edu

Topics: principal preparation, minorities in school administration, school experiences of gay and lesbian students

Author of "The Principal's Challenge: Learning from Gay and Lesbian Students," (2009).

nick pace 

 

 

Victoria Robinson

interim department head, educational leadership, counseling & postsecondary education

319-273-3070

victoria.robinson@uni.edu

Topics: effective teachers, teacher evaluation

vickie robinson 

 

 

Clare Struck

instructor, Malcolm Price Laboratory School

319-273-6189

clare.struck@uni.edu

Topics: bullying, school counseling in the 21st Century, conflict resolution, character education, democratic learning communities, whole child education

Co-authored "Be a Buddy, Not a Bully!," K-5 bully prevention curriculum linked to the American School Counselor Association Standards

Delivered written and oral testimony for the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Reauthorization: Meeting the Needs of the Whole Student, for the Senate Committee hearing on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions (HELP), Washington, DC, 2010.

clare struck 

 

 

Jody Stone

professor, Malcolm Price Laboratory School and professor of chemistry and biochemistry

319-273-6466

jody.stone@uni.edu

Topics:  effective science teaching, effective teachers, STEM education

jody stone 

 

 

Dwight Watson

dean, College of Education

319-273-2717

dwight.watson@uni.edu

Topics: statewide Research & Development School, multicultural education, urban education, service leadership

dwight watson 

 

 

Barry Wilson

associate professor, educational psychology & foundations

319-273-2767

barry.wilson@uni.edu

Topics: assessment, standards and accountability, education reform, teacher quality

Co-author with John Henning, Frank Kohler and Victoria Robinson of "Improvement of Teacher Quality," by Rowman and Littlefield, 2010.

barry wilson 

 

 

Betty Zan

interim director & associate professor, Regents' Center for Early Developmental Education

319-273-2101

betty.zan@uni.edu

Topics:  math and science education in early childhood programs, statewide voluntary pre-school for four-year-old children, early learning

betty zan