Share this

Education Experts

UNI's No. 1 education program in the state has many experts on a variety of topics including education reform, school consolidation, assessment testing, teacher incentive program and much more.

 

Experts by Topic

Lyn Countryman

professor, Office of Student Field Experiences

319-273-2614

lyn.countryman@uni.edu

Topics:  effective teaching, global achievement gap, K-12 science teaching, STEM education

lyn countryman

Nadene Davidson

assistant professor, Department of Teaching

319-273-6171

nadene.davidson@uni.edu

Topics: 21st century skills, universal constructs, student teaching/clinical experiences, Iowa Core, education reform, reauthorization of Elementary & Secondary Education Act (formerly No Child Left Behind), student achievement, global achievement, effective teaching

nadene davidson

Michele Devlin

professor and director of the Iowa Center for Health Disparities at UNI

319-273-5806

michele.devlin@uni.edu

Topics: health literacy, multicultural education, cultural competency

Expertise in training and research about culturally competent healthcare and related topics affecting immigrant, refugee, minority and low-income white populations.

michele devlin

Salli Forbes

associate professor, curriculum & instruction and director, UNI Reading Recovery Center

319-273-6597

salli.forbes@uni.edu

Topics: literacy, reading recovery program

salli forbes

Tim Gilson

assistant professor, educational leadership & postsecondary education

319-273-2636

tim.gilson@uni.edu

Topics: school consolidation, educational law

tim gilson

Mary Herring

associate dean and professor, College of Education

319-273-2719

mary.herring@uni.edu

Topics: education reform, teacher accountability, student achievement, effective teachers, technology in education

 

mary herring

Dewitt Jones

associate professor, educational leadership & postsecondary education

319-273-4546

dewitt.jones@uni.edu

Topics: student achievement gap, school law

dewitt jones

Chris Kliewer

professor, special education

319-273-7185

christopher.kliewer@uni.edu

Topics: literacy and communication skills in young children with significant developmental disabilities, inclusive education

 


Nicholas Pace

associate professor, educational leadership & postsecondary education

319-273-3564

nick.pace@uni.edu

Topics: principal preparation, minorities in school administration, school experiences of gay and lesbian students

Author of "The Principal's Challenge: Learning from Gay and Lesbian Students," (2009).

nick pace

Victoria Robinson

department head, educational leadership & postsecondary education

319-273-3070

victoria.robinson@uni.edu

Topics: effective teachers, teacher evaluation

vickie robinson

Clare Struck

field experiences, Department of Teaching

319-273-6189

clare.struck@uni.edu

Topics: bullying, school counseling in the 21st Century, conflict resolution, character education, democratic learning communities, whole child education

Co-authored "Be a Buddy, Not a Bully!," K-5 bully prevention curriculum linked to the American School Counselor Association Standards

Delivered written and oral testimony for the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Reauthorization: Meeting the Needs of the Whole Student, for the Senate Committee hearing on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions (HELP), Washington, DC, 2010.

clare struck

Jody Stone

field experiences and professor of chemistry and biochemistry

319-273-6466

jody.stone@uni.edu

Topics:  effective science teaching, effective teachers, STEM education

jody stone

Dwight Watson

dean, College of Education

319-273-2717

dwight.watson@uni.edu

Topics: statewide Research & Development School, multicultural education, urban education, service leadership

dwight watson

Betty Zan

interim director & associate professor, Regents' Center for Early Developmental Education

319-273-2101

betty.zan@uni.edu

Topics:  math and science education in early childhood programs, statewide voluntary pre-school for four-year-old children, early learning

 

betty zan