University of Northern Iowa undergraduate students in music receive scholarships each year ranging from $2,000 to $24,000 over four years. The majority of scholarships may be renewable for four years based upon successful progress and available funding. There are opportunities for both entering students and currently enrolled students.

Entering Student Scholarship Information

The online scholarship application is only available for students who have applied for admission to the UNIversity of Northern Iowa. To apply for an audition and scholarships to the School of Music, complete the application form at:

If you have not applied for admission to UNI and still wish to audition, please contact the School of Music office for additional information (e-mail or call (319) 273-2024).

By completing the UNIversity Scholarship Application you are applying for the following scholarships:

Alta Freeman Scholarship
Anna M. Nielsen Scholarship
Beth Gilbert Excellence in Music Scholarship
Bradford Scholarship
C.A. Fullerton Scholarship
Caryl Becker Memorial Scholarship
Catherine E. Boysen Scholarship
Charles & Marleta Matheson Scholarship *
Dale C. & Enid H. Harris Instrumental Music Endowed Scholarship
Dean Simpson Scholarship
Dee Silver Family Scholarship
Donald Hudson Ford Scholarship
Dorothy Jean Ray Music Scholarship
Dr. Richard & Donagene Lattin Music Scholarship
Edward Frampton Kurtz Scholarship
Emil Bock Scholarship
Esther Bley Rinker Scholarship
Eudora Carey Hoyer Scholarship
Florence Christianson Scholarship
Floyd Flute Scholarship
Hinson Family Scholarship
James L. Gordon Memorial Scholarship
John E. Partington Scholarship
Jvone E. Maxwell Scholarship
Karen Ewoldt Kruse Scholarship
Karl Holvik Scholarship
Ken Trapp Scholarship
Leland Sage Scholarship
Loraine Ericksen Ames Music Scholarship
Martha Ellen Tye Scholarship
Mary Kate Arington Scholarship
Mary Werning Earley Music Scholarship
Music Jazz Composition Scholarship
Musical Excellence Endowed Scholarship
Myron E. and Ruth M. Russell Music Scholarship *
Nellie Dickie Music Scholarship
Nolte-Miller String Scholarship
Olive Barker Memorial Scholarship
Orchestra Scholarships for Non-music majors
Presser Foundation *
Ralph & Jane Sherwin Schwartz Endowed Opera Fund Scholarship
Robert Berg Scholarship
Robert Dean Scholarship *
Robert & Margaret Bradford Scholarship
Robert & Mary Frranken Scholarship
Russell Baum Scholarship
Russell Baum Piano Scholarship
School of Music International Scholarship
School of Music Jazz Scholarship
School of Music, Music Benefit Scholarship
Sigma Alpha Iota-Olive Barker Scholarship
Susan Akerman Scholarship
Thomas Capps Memorial Jazz Scholarship
UNI New Horizons Band Scholarship
UNI Opera Guild Scholarship
Vaughan Tuba Scholarship
Voice Performance Scholarship
Walter & Gwendolyn McCague Brown Scholarship
William P. Hansen Scholarship
William Zaputil Music Education Scholarship
Young American Drum & Bugle Corps Scholarship

For more information on these scholarships, please contact us.

* Scholarships followed by an asterisk may require additional application forms and/or live performance competition participation in order to be awarded. For details contact us.

Presidential Scholarship Awards

20 Presidential Scholarships are awarded by the University Honors Program to high school seniors with a history of outstanding academic performance worth $32,000 over four years ($8000 per year). Recipients will be those whose strong academic credentials are matched by personal involvement in leadership and service activities.

For more information, click here.

Currently Enrolled Student Information

Scholarship Auditions for currently enrolled UNI students will be held April 14, 2014.

The Preliminaries and Final Rounds for the Spotlight Series are March 4 and March 31, 2014 respectively. Updated documents for 2014 will be posted soon. Last year's documents are linked below for reference.

Spotlight Series Competition

Continuing Student Auditions