University of Northern Iowa

Fulbright Canada - Awards for American Scholars

The Canada-U.S. Fulbright Program operates on the principle of reciprocal exchange and provides the opportunity for outstanding American scholars to lecture and/or conduct research in Canada. Award recipients include prominent and promising scholars, as well as experienced professionals. Applicants can apply to the:

Distinguished Chairs Program (Pending): US$35,000 for one semester (4 months)

Visiting Research Chairs Program: US$25,000 for one semester (4 months)

Traditional (All Disciplines) Award: US$12,500 for one semester (4 months), or US$25,000 for a full academic year (9 months)

Postdoctoral Research Award: US$30,000 for one academic year (9 months)

Fulbright-Carlos Rico Award for North American Studies: US$12,500 for one semester in Canada plus US$2,300 per month in Mexico

Specialists Program: Short-term collaboration on curriculum and faculty development, institutional planning and a variety of other activities at Canadian institutions.

NEXUS Program: Two-year collaborative research program on “Climate Change and Adaptation Strategies” 

  • With more than 300,000 Fulbright alumni in more than 150 countries, the Fulbright program is the gold standard in academic exchange and a leader in public diplomacy.
  • The Foundation for Educational Exchange between Canada and the United States of America (Fulbright Canada) is a binational, treaty-based, non-governmental, not-for-profit organization with a mandate to identify the best and brightest minds in both countries and engage them in residential academic exchange
  • The mandate of Fulbright Canada is to enhance mutual understanding between the people of Canada and the people of the United States of America by providing support to outstanding individuals. These individuals conduct research, lecture, or enroll in formal academic programs in the other country. In doing so, Fulbright Canada aims to grow intellectual capacity, increase productivity, and assist in the shaping of future leaders.
  •  As always, for assistance or with questions, please e-mail