UNI Earth Science Honor Society Receives National Award

The University of Northern Iowa chapter of the national Earth Science Honor society, Sigma Gamma Epsilon, has received the organization’s national Quality Chapter Award for 2013. This is the second consecutive year that the UNI chapter, Gamma Sigma, has earned high honor from the national society. In 2012 only four chapters of the nearly 200 around the nation earned the award, while in 2013 only six chapters earned the award.

The Quality Chapter Award recognizes chapters for achieving excellence by providing a quality program to its members by accomplishing specific criteria including completing a service project. Chapter members are regular volunteers in various department events as well as at the Sunday at the Quarry event each fall as part of National Earth Science Week, helping with the Homecoming Campus Clean-up, staffing tables at the UNI Earth Day Event, and providing presentations as part of UNIs Honors week. While most members of the UNI Chapter of Sigma Gamma Epsilon are majors in the Department of Earth Science, members also come from degree programs such as physics, biology, chemistry and geography.

The Gamma Sigma Chapter is advised by Dr. James Walters, Professor of Geology, and Dr. Siobahn Morgan, Professor of Astronomy in the Earth Science Department at the University of Northern Iowa.