College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Department of Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminology

Faculty Profiles

Sociology Faculty

.

Phyllis BakerPhyllis Baker

Professor of Sociology and Department Head
(319) 273-2786 Bartlett 1126A
Phyllis.Baker@uni.edu
Ph.D. (1988), University of California-San Diego.
Gender, Qualitative Methods, Sports, Immigration

Harry BrodHarry Brod

Professor of Sociology and Humanities
(319) 273-2693 Bartlett 1117 
harry.brod@uni.edu 
Ph.D. (1981), University of California-San Diego.
Gender Studies, Jewish Studies, social and political theory, humanities, modern European thought, critical studies of masculinities, whitenesses and heterosexualities

Website: http://www.harrybrod.com/

Ruth Chananie-HillRuth Chananie

Assistant Professor of Sociology
(319) 273-2786 Bartlett 1126
rchill@uni.edu
Ph.D. (2007), Southern Illinois University Carbondale
Theory, Gender/Class/Race Inequalities, Social Movements, Sexualities, Sport

Xavier EscandellXavier Escandell

Associate Professor of Sociology
(319) 273-3932 Bartlett 2130 
xavier.escandell@uni.edu
Ph.D. (2005), University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.
Immigration and Transnationalism, Race/Ethnic Inequality, Social Demography, Research Methods, European Union

Carissa FroyumCarissa Froyum

Associate Professor of Sociology
(319) 273-6294 Bartlett 1115
Carissa.Froyum@uni.edu
Ph.D. (2007), North Carolina State University.
Social Inequality (Race, Class, Gender), Sexuality, Sociology of Families, Feminist Theory, Qualitative Methods

Gene LutzGene Lutz

Professor and Director, Center for Social and Behavioral Research
(319) 273-2105, 2304 College St. (CET Bldg.)
Gene.Lutz@uni.edu
Ph.D. (1971) Iowa State University
Research Methods/Statistics, Public Health, Public Opinion, Evaluation 

Kristin MackKristin Mack

Professor of Sociology
(319) 273-7630 Bartlett 2118 
Kristin.Mack@uni.edu
Ph.D. (1995), Iowa State University.
Family and Life Course, Research Methods, Social Gerontology 

Marybeth StalpMarybeth Stalp

Associate Professor of Sociology
(319) 273-6235 Bartlett 2112
Marybeth.Stalp@uni.edu
Ph.D. (2001), The University of Georgia.
Sociology of Gender, Sociology of Culture, Sociology of Leisure, Qualitative Methods

Website: http://www.marybethstalp.com