Catalog 2010-2012

Department of Earth Science

College of Social and Behavioral Sciences


*Plans are in progress to consolidate the College of Humanities and Fine Arts and the College of Natural Sciences by June 30, 2011.


The Department of Earth Science encompasses five curricular disciplines: Earth Science, Geology, Meteorology, Astronomy, and Earth Science Education. Major programs are offered in two baccalaureate areas: the Bachelor of Science and the Bachelor of Arts.

The B.S. degree in Geology is intended for students who wish to become professional geologists and who plan to enter graduate school in geology. This curriculum meets the standards of the American Institute of Professional Geologists. The B.A. in Geology provides a wider choice of electives than the B.S. in Geology and prepares students for additional study in selected fields of geology, paleontology, and related earth science areas. The B.A. degree in Earth Science is designed as a broad liberal arts major that can build a strong foundation for a variety of career plans. It also provides supportive background and additional career options as a second major for students majoring in other disciplines such as mathematics, computer science, industrial technology, anthropology, geography, biology, chemistry or related areas. Students wishing to work as professional interpreters with park systems, nature centers, museums, and other areas requiring field skills in the natural sciences and natural history communication skills are advised to select the B.A. in Earth Science with Interpretive Naturalist Emphasis. The B.A. degree in Earth Science-Teaching is designed to prepare secondary Earth Science teachers.