down arrowMenu


Disability Advisory and Advocacy Committee


The Disability Advisory and Advocacy Committee is a university committee responsible for advising the President's Executive Management Team on matters related to campus accessibility and the provision of disability services to students, faculty and staff and, more specifically, advising the departments of Student Disability Services and Human Resource Services on disability-related matters.  Further, the Committee advocates for students, staff and faculty with disabilities; raises awareness of disability as a civil rights and diversity issue; and promotes collaboration between relevant service providers on campus.


The Committee has 18 members representing colleges and units directly involved in addressing disability issues.  The individuals responsible for provision of disability services to students and employees are appointed ex officio (non-voting).  The campus-based representative of Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services is appointed ex officio (non-voting).  The committee reports to the President through the Vice President for Student Affairs and appointments are made by the President, based on the recommendations provided by units as described below.  Members serve until they are replaced.  The committee chair is appointed by the President.

Preference in making appointments will be given to faculty and staff who have particular research interest or content knowledge about matters pertaining to individuals with disabilities.


The Committee meets monthly and at the call of the chair.

Committee Membership


Appointee recommended by

Deb Gallagher



Nancy Hill Cobb

Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs


Jason Vetter

Instructional Designer & Tech Coord, ITS-Educational Technology

Chief Information Officer

Phil Simpson

Administration and Financial Services/Facilities Planning

VP, Administration and Financial Services

Mike Zwanziger

Administration and Financial Services/Physical Plant

VP, Administration and Financial Services

Helen Haire

Administration and Financial Services/Safety 

VP, Administration and Financial Services 

Leah Gutknecht

Compliance and Equity Management

Asst to Pres, Comp & Equity Management

Heidi Noonan-Day


Dean, CBA

Jennifer Garrett


Dean, CHAS

Tina Naami


Dean, CSBS

Deb Gallagher


Dean, College of Education

Barb Weeg


Dean, Rod Library

Carolyn Dorr

University Relations

Director, UR

Jean Wiesley

Student Affairs/Residence

VP, Student Affairs

Debby Ferguson

Student Affairs/Health

VP, Student Affairs

Hansen Breitling



Grace Nielsen


Student Disability Services

Eric Benson

Student - Military/Veteran representative


Dean Shoars

Environmental & Health Safety Director


Therese Callaghan

Employee Disability and Leave Coordinator

Ex officio (non-voting)

Ashley Brickley

Student Disability Services Coordinator

Ex officio (non-voting)

Chris Crews-Larsen

Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor

Ex officio (non-voting)