Navigation
Contacts
Home Contact Information Calendar Interactions Matrix Governing Board News Archive Project Proposal Presentations Pictures Teacher-in-Residence Mentoring Course >> Field Experiences >> Research References >> Links >>

PDS Director and Coordinator of Field Experiences
Becky Hawbaker
Price Laboratory School 116/114H
University of Northern Iowa
Phone  (319) 273-7664 (office)
Fax (319) 273-6457
E-mail field-experience@uni.edu
Lead Supervisors
Daphne Schuchart
114 Price Laboratory School
University of Northern Iowa
E-mail dschucha@uni.edu
Site Coordinators

Cedar Falls Community School District

School and Principal

PDS Site Coordinator(s)
[see below for description*]

Level 1 Supervisor(s)
[see below for description**]

Cedar Falls High School
Rich Powers
Rich.powers@cfschools.org

 

Judy Timmins
Judy.timmins@cfschools.org


Mike Hansel
Mike.hansel@cfschools.org

 

Kelvin Schuchart
kelvin@cfu.net

Peet Junior High
Jason Wedgbury
Jason.wedgbury@cfschools.org

 

Victor Ochoa (new Fall 2011)
Victor.ochoa@cfschools.org

Don Foth
fothdon@cfu.net

Hansen Elementary
Tara Estep
Tara.estep@cfschools.org

 

Kristin Pease
Kristin.pease@cfschools.org


Luke Wagner
Luke.wagner@cfschools.org

TBA

Orchard Hill Elementary
Kim Cross
Kim.cross@cfschools.org

 

Monica Winkowitsch
Monica.winkowitsch@cfschools.org

Sue Gillett
heyculliganman@cfu.net

Cedar Heights Elementary
Jon Wiebers
Jon.wiebers@cfschools.org

Merrilee Betts
Merrilee.betts@cfschools.org

 

Lynn Doyle
Lynn.doyle4@gmail.com

Southdale Elementary
Matt Brummond
Matt.brummond@cfschools.org

 

Tammy Bronemann
Tammy.bronemann@cfschools.org


Sara Goodwin
Sara.goodwin@cfschools.org

NA

Lincoln Elementary School
Deb Beving
Deb.beving@cfschools.org

 

Jarith Witt
Jarith.witt@cfschools.org

Trudy Olson
jtolsen@mchsi.com

Holmes Junior High
Dave Welter
Dave.welter@cfschools.org

Lisa Johnson (new Fall 2011)
Lisa.johnson@cfschools.org

NA

North Cedar Elementary
Jennifer Hartman
Jennifer.hartman@cfschools.org

NA

NA

Waterloo Community School District

School and Principal

PDS Site Coordinator(s)

PDS Level 1 Supervisor(s)

East High School
Willie Barney
barneyw@waterloo.k12.ia.us

B.J. Meaney
meaneyb@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Mike Allen
Mallen8114@q.com

Central Middle School
Marla Padget
padgetm@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Audrey Kimball
kimballa@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Dave Nichols
ddnichols@cfu.net

Carver Middle School
Brad Schweppe
schweppeb@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Chris Peck
peckc@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Marcie Hagge
Marcie.hagge@uni.edu

Edison Elementary
Melissa Steggall
Steggallm@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Carrie White
whitec@waterloo.k12.ia.us

JoAnn Welch
Jwelch49@mchsi.com

Poyner Elementary
Trista Manternach
manternacht@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Dawn Even
evend@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Jill Schnathorst Barta
schnathorstj@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Lynn Doyle
Lynn.doyle4@gmail.com

Lincoln Elementary
Stephanie Mohorne
mohornes@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Rick Traw
Rick.traw@uni.edu

Rick Traw
Rick.traw@uni.edu

Irving Elementary
Steve Thune
thunes@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Neldrekka Whitaker
whitakern@waterloo.k12.ia.us

NA

Kingsley Elementary
Susan Flodeen: flodeens@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Mary Tiffany
tiffanym@waterloo.k12.ia.us


Stacy Harmon
harmons@waterlook.12.ia.us

NA

Lowell Elementary
Amber Dietz: dietza@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Linda Stevens
stevensl@waterloo.k12.ia.us

NA

Hoover Middle School
Dan Cox: coxd@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Lesley Taylorson
taylorsonl@waterloo.k12.ia.us

TBA

West High School
Gail Moon
moong@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Heather Bentley Wagner
bentleyh@waterloo.k12.ia.us

TBA

Cunningham Elementary
Liz Crowley crowleye@waterloo.k12.ia.us

TBA

NA

Kittrell Elementary
Audrey Wallican-Green wallicangreena@waterloo.k12.ia.us

TBA

NA

Orange Elementary
Teri Trask
traskt@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Carol Boyce boycec@waterloo.k12.ia.us

NA

Highland Elementary
Mary Jo Wagner
wagnerm@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Kay Spratt
sprattk@waterloo.k12.ia.us

NA

Lou Henry Elementary
Brian Ortman
ortmanb@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Veronica Armstrong
armstrongv@waterloo.k12.ia.us

NA

Bunger Middle School
Andy Miehe
miehea@waterloo.k12.ia.us

Karen Sproule
sproulek@waterloo.k12.ia.us

NA

*Roles and Responsibilities of the Site Coordinator(s)
1.   Assist with recruiting mentor teachers for Level 1, 2, and 3 field experience
placements and serve as the contact person for other placement requests at the school.
2.   Assist with making appropriate placement matches and completing associated
paperwork.
3.   Coordinate and lead an orientation event for field experience students,
usually during the 3rd week of UNI classes.
4.   Act as a liaison between mentor teachers in the school and university faculty.
5.   Provide on-site problem-solving for all stakeholders (responsibilities,
requirements, concerns, scheduling conflicts).
6.   Conduct needs assessments of mentor teachers regarding professional
development, direction, or incentives.
7.   Assist with collecting evaluations, surveys, and other information from
      mentor teachers.
8.   Serve as contact person to coordinate initial requests for research (permission
to conduct research must be obtained through the Central Administration and the Institutional Review Board).

**Roles and Responsibilities of the Level 1 Supervisors:

  • Act as a liaison between the school and university, building a relationship of trust and support.
  • Provide mentor teachers with regular personal communication, support, information, and materials relevant to working with preservice teachers in field experiences.
  • Encourage active interactions and reflection by preservice teachers in the field experience
  • Communicate placement issues to the Coordinator of Field Placements and student concerns to the professor of record, follow up with student concerns at the request of the teacher, including observing, conferencing, and coaching.
  • Communicate school requests for professional development, technical assistance, or other needs to the Director of the PDS.