Message from the Dean - November 2012

Premier Points Revisited

The Premier Points committees met infrequently during the spring 2012 semester due to the campus-based unrest around programming retrenchment. It was difficult to concentrate on the aspirational when the operational was in jeopardy. In October 2012, I convened the chairs of each Premier Point committee to discuss their committees' implementation plans. Although the committee rosters have changed and in some cases the committee chairs, each committee will reconvene to continue their implementation tasks. The committees had been asked to define the premier point, identify the charge or rationale for the intent, generate factors to consider when implementing the intent, and identify the resources needed to fully implement the premier point. Each committee has articulated the premier point intents. If you are interested in being on one of these committees, please let the chair know. The work of spring 2013 is to incorporate the Premier Points into our programs, protocols, and pedagogical practices.

Assessment - Rob Boody, Chair

Committee Members: Christine Curran, Chris Kowalski, Kristi Powers, Vickie Robinson, and Jean Schneider

Intent: The committee will develop a College of Education Assessment Plan, bring it to the appropriate groups for approval, and begin implementation. Components to be put into practice this year include: 1] Prepare for an annual Data Day in which the feedback loop is closed so that everyone can use the collected data to inform instruction; 2] Create an assessment portal for the College of Education’s website; 3] Create an assessment dashboard that is aligned with the College of Education’s strategic plan; 4] Get more data to people; and 5] Carry out a ‘What’s On Your Mind’ survey of current students.


Community Engagement and Service Learning - Clare Struck, Chair

Committee Members: Aricia Beckman, Kerri Clopton, Sam Lankford, Terri Lasswell, and Denise Tallakson

Intent: Generate a survey to gather data about community engagement and service learning. Work on connecting all pre-professionals to service agencies that support the children and clients that they will work with as professionals. Will work on incorporating the principles of military-connected children into the curriculum of the College of Education's programs.


Diversity - Suzanne Freedman, Chair

Committee Members: Courtney Clausen, Deb Deemer, Carrie Elser, Tim Gilson, Gloria Kirkland-Holmes, Trey Leech, Stephanie Logan, and Amy Petersen,

Intent: Provide diversity-based professional development programming and opportunities for our students, staff, and faculty. Work in collaboration with others to support annual events such as the Inclusion Conference, the African American Children and Families Conference, and the Education Lecture Series. This committee will work closely with the Multicultural Teaching Alliance which is a student organization that focuses on diversity initiatives.


Field-based Experiences - Dianna Briggs, Chair

Committee Members: Leasha Henrickson, Katheryn East, Dewitt Jones, Amy Lockhart, Rip Marston, Candace Sawyer, and Rick Traw

Intent: This committee will focus on enhancing the existing field-based experiences and internship components across the College of Education. They will focus primarily on providing support for the Professional Partnership Model by possibly helping with problem-solving issues and research development. They envision supporting the field experience coordinators on collaborative research initiatives, mentor teacher support, and professional development. Offering the annual Mentoring Conference once again may also be an intent of this committee.


Inquiry - Robin Lund, Chair

Committee Members: Tony Gabriele, Frank Kohler, Kim Miller, Charles McNulty, and Audrey Rule

Intent: Provide IRB training for interested College of Education faculty members, create protocols for collaborative research, pilot interdisciplinary research teams in the School of Health, Physical Education, and Leisure Services, and generate inquiry-based framework that others could embed into their programs of study. Work with individual faculty to assist them in crafting a research agenda.


Leadership - Victoria Robinson, Chair

Committee Members: Lyn Le Countryman, Christopher Edginton, Sue Etscheidt, Ping Lu, Lynn Nielsen, and Greg Reed

Intent: Incorporate the components of the Leader in Me into pre-professional programming, provide support for the Leader in Me in-service for area professionals, and prepare in-service teacher leaders via a cohort certificate program. The committee must also create a framework for leadership that others could embed into their programs of study.


Literacy - Deborah Tidwell, Chair

Committee Members: Elana Joram, Nicki McGowan, Mary Beth Rygh, Kathy Scholl, and Amy Staples

 Intent: This committee has created a definition of literacy that they feel can serve all programs well. They ask that each program determine how the definition can be aligned with the work that is conducted in the programs. The definition is: Literacy means being a thoughtful problem solver who uses a constellation of skills (reading, writing, listening, speaking) to engage in reading critically, to increase in ways that helps others to understand and know, to apply within a context, and to create solutions that will improve communities now and into the future. 

This committee also will focus on developing awareness within programs of academic language as a reflection of literacy and on situating academic language within the literacy expectations of programs across the College of Education. The committee will workclosely with the teacher performance assessment (edTPA) team on developing protocols or avenues for amplifying the academic language of programs.


Technology - Leigh Zeitz, Chair

 Committee Members: Maxine Davis, Mary Herring, Dan Mourlam, Sarah Semon, Michelle Tichy, and Jason Vetter

Intent: Incorporate the principles of Technology, Pedagogy, and Content Knowledge (TPACK) across the College of Education's program offerings. Embedded into the TPACK roll out is professional development in 21st century pedagogy, integrating problem-based learning, developing enhanced technological competency and integration as well as supporting professional learning communities. This committee will also work on submitting to the Board of Educational Examiners a proposal to turn the instructional technology minor into a teaching endorsement.