art history symposium
The Fourth Annual Art History Symposium will take place in the UNI Department of Art on Friday, April 4, 2014. The theme of the symposium this year is TELLING TALES: Truth, Lies & Truthiness.

On the evening of the symposium, a distinguished outside juror will deliver a keynote address on a subject related to the symposium theme. In addition, three current UNI students (whose research papers will have been chosen as the top three of those submitted) will present their formal papers (reading aloud with projected images). The juror will present $600 in awards to the three winning students.

All events will take place in the Kamerick Art Building, Room 111. The symposium is free and open to the public.

the university of northern iowa
department of art and
the college of humanities, arts and sciences present
Call for Papers

TELLING TALES: Truth, Lies & Truthiness
Juror: Jeff Fleming, Director of the Des 
     Moines Art Center and internationally 
     recognized curator

Prizes: A total of $600 will be awarded by the juror. Awards will be applied toward any outstanding U-bill before cash will be distributed

Friday March 7:  Deadline for submission of papers to Peer Review Committee
Friday March 28: Selected papers forwarded to Juror
Friday April 4: Presentation of the papers with accompanying PowerPoint images

Submit a hardcopy to the Art Office and a digital copy (MS Word format) by email to Dr. Adelman and Dr. Sutton.  
The subject of submitted papers must somehow be related to the symposium theme, and should be around 2000-3000 words (about 5-7 pages double-spaced). Complete information on style for the 
submitted papers and a sample of a correctly-styled paper will be available in the Art Office.  

Kathe Kollwitz (German) Clay figure (Inca) Mimbres pottery
(Native American) Benin mask (African)
Two sets of posters (one call for papers, the other an events poster) promoting this year’s symposium were designed by students in Graphic Design 2, as taught by Roy R. Behrens.  Of the posters submitted, the top ones were chosen by art historians Drs. Charles Adelman and Elizabeth Sutton, and department head Jeffery Byrd. It has been decided to publish all five (shown at right) and above.http://www.uni.edu/artdept/behrens.htmlshapeimage_12_link_0
© Alex Rogers © Zach Bird © Jake Earp IMPORTANT
Student presentations will begin at 5:00 pm on Friday, April 4 (not 5:30 as was mistakenly listed earlier). Awards will be announced at 6:15.

Four semi-finalists have now been chosen. They are Chloe Bozorgomid, Kelly Cunningham, Estephania Gonzalez and Katie Kecso. © Alex Rogers © Rhiannon Rasmussen