Center for Disability Studies in Literacy Language and LearningImages of children in the classrooms at the Center for Disability Studies in Literacy, Language, and Learning

About

The Center is an interdisciplinary initiative that draws on the expertise of representatives from Communication Sciences & Disorders, Special Education, and Literacy & General Education as well as other relevant fields to develop and support effective school, family, and community-based practices that foster literacy, communication and full participation for ALL students.


Faculty Members

Evette Edmister, Ph.D., CCC-SLP,
Assistant Professor/Communication Sciences & Disorders
Co-Director/Center for Disability Studies in Literacy, Language, and Learning
evette.edmister@uni.edu

Jennifer Walz Garrett, Ph.D., CCC-SLP,
Assistant Professor/Communication Sciences & Disorders
Co-Director/Center for Disability Studies in Literacy, Language, and Learning
jennifer.garrett@uni.edu 

Chris Kliewer, Ph.D.,
Professor/Special Education
Co-Director/Center for Disability Studies in Literacy, Language, and Learning
christopher.kliewer@uni.edu 

Amy Petersen, Ed.D.,
Associate Professor/Special Education
Co-Director/Center for Disability Studies in Literacy, Language, and Learning
amy.petersen@uni.edu

Amy Staples, Ph.D.,
Associate Professor/Special Education
Co-Director/Center for Disability Studies in Literacy, Language, and Learning
amy.staples@uni.edu 

 


Center Staff

Lora Hickman, M.A.E.
Program Coordinator
lora.hickman@uni.edu

Bette Nee, Ed.D.
Research Associate
bette.nee@uni.edu